Langkawi, Malaysia

Langkawi, Malaysia

Langkawi is an archipelago of 99 islands in the Andaman Sea, 30 km off the mainland coast of northwestern Malaysia. The largest island is the eponymous Palau Langkawi with a population of approx 64 800. Langkawi means reddish brown eagle in colloquial Malay. In 1986 the Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad decided to transform it into a tourist resort. Only 4 of the 99 islands are inhabited. In 2007, Langkawi island was given a World Geopark status by UNESCO. Langkawi can be reached by air and sea, and it has its own International Airport.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s