Saarland, Germany

Saarland, Germany

Saarland is one of Germany’s sixteen federal states, the smallest in size, excluding the city-states of Berlin, Bremen and Hamburg. It has a population of 1 million and its capital is Saarbrücken. Saarland is the result of the a regulation of the treaty of Versailles and was created in 1919. But during the Interwar period it was disputed between France and Germany. After WWII it came under French occupation as the Saar Protectorate. In 1955 it had the opportunity to become an independent entity, but a plebiscite rejected such plan. On October 27, 1956 the Saar Treaty declared that Saarland should be allowed to join the Federal Republic of Germany. Thanks to Annette.

Saarland Location on Google Maps

Views from Saarland, Germany

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s