Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Santiago is the capital of the autonomous community of Galicia. The city has its origin in the shrine of Saint James the Great. The Cathedral was completed in 1211. In 1985 the city’s Old Town was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Thanks to Isa.

Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Santiago de Compostela, Spain [rev]

La Giralda, Sevilla

La Giralda is a bell tower of the Seville Cathedral. It was built as a minaret during the Moorish period. It was registered as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987. The tower is 104 meters high. Thanks to Alvaro.

La Giralda, Sevilla

La Giralda, Sevilla [rev]


Roman walls of Lugo, Spain

Nellita sent me this card showing the Roman walls of Lugo, in the autonomous community of Galicia. The walls were constructed in the 3rd century and they stretch over 2 kms around the historic center of the city. The walls were added to the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2000.

Roman walls of Lugo, Spain

Roman walls of Lugo, Spain [rev]

Triana Bridge, Seville

Triana Bridge, Seville, Spain

Triana is a neighbourhood and administrative district on the west bank of the Guadalquivir River in Seville. It is connected to Seville by the Isabel II bridge, popularly known as Puente de Triana. It was constructed between 1845 and 1852. In 1976 it was declared a national monument.

Triana Bridge, Seville